DPS 2015 » Awards

Definitions of Awards

DPS offers the following awards annually to recognize those who demonstrated outstanding achievements in the fields of DPS’ interest.

DPS Nishizawa Award:

DPS Nishizawa Award is given to an individual who made an outstanding contribution to DPS as well as significant academic/technological achievements in the fields of DPS’ interest.

Best Presentation Award: (previously known as the "Best Paper Award" of DPS)

This award is given each year to the authors who best presented their significant academic/technological achievements in the fields of DPS’ interest.

Young Researcher Award:

This award is given to a young researcher who made an outstanding oral or poster presentation at the DPS each year. The recipient must be 33 years old or younger as of January 1st of the year and the first author of the presented paper.

DPS Paper Award: (New)

This award is given to the authors of the best paper published in one of Special Issues of Japanese Journal of Applied Physics (JJAP) during last 3 years (i. e. for DPS Paper Award 2015, the candidate paper must be published in DPS 2013, 2014, or 2015). The recipients of the Best Presentation Award or Young Researcher Award are also eligible for this award.

Past Award Winners

Recipient of Nishizawa Award

DPS2014 Nishizawa Award:

  • Y.Tarui

DPS2013 Nishizawa Award:

  • H.Okano

DPS2012 Nishizawa Award:

  • H. H. Sawin
  • R. A. Gottscho

DPS2011 Nishizawa Award:

  • S. Tachi
  • N. Hosokawa

DPS2010 Nishizawa Award:

  • J. W. Coburn
  • H. F. Winters

DPS2009 Nishizawa Award:

  • Haruhiko Abe
  • Keizo Suzuki

DPS2008 Nishizawa Award:

  • Masataka Hirose
  • Yasuhiro Horiike

Best Paper Award Winners

DPS2011 Best Paper Award:

  • K. Kinoshita (Tohoku University)

DPS2010 Best Paper Award:

  • not applicable

DPS2009 Best Paper Award:

  • Koji Eriguchi (Kyoto University)

DPS2008 Best Paper Award:

  • M. Fukasawa (Sony Corp.)

DPS2007 Best Paper Award:

  • G. Delgadino (Lam Research Corp.)

DPS2006 Best Paper Award:

  • M. Kurihara (Hitachi, Ltd.)

DPS2005 Best Paper Award:

  • not applicable

DPS2004 Best Paper Award:

  • not applicable

DPS2003 Best Paper Award:

  • not applicable

DPS2002 Best Paper Award:

  • Yoshinori Momonoi (Hitachi Ltd.)
  • Takanori Ichiki (University of Tokyo)

DPS2001 Best Paper Award:

  • Junko Abe (Toshiba Corp.)

DPS2000 Best Paper Award:

  • N. Negishi (Hitachi, Ltd.)

Young Researcher Award Winners

DPS2013 Young Researcher Award:

  • Y.Ding (Tokyo Inst. of Tech)
  • H.Yamamoto (Toshiba Corp.)

DPS2012 Young Researcher Award:

  • S.Hayashi (Hiroshima Univ.)
  • A.Pandey (Chubu Univ.)

DPS2011 Young Researcher Award:

  • Hirotaka Tsuda (Kyoto University)
  • Naoya Sumi (Nagoya University)

DPS2010 Young Researcher Award:

  • Tomoko Ito (Osaka University)
  • Asahiko Matsuda (Kyoto University)
  • Hideharu Shimizu (Taiyo-Nippon Sanso Co.)

PS2009 Young Researcher Award:

  • Hiroshi Yamamoto (Nagoya University)
  • A. Kawanami (Hiroshima University)

DPS2008 Young Researcher Award:

  • M. J. Titus (University of Calfornia, Berkeley)
  • H. Furukawa (Hiroshima University)

DPS2007 Young Researcher Award:

  • T. Ohchi (Sony Corp.)
  • T. Yorimoto (Hiroshima University)

DPS2006 Young Researcher Award:

  • E. Kesters (IMEC)

DPS2005 Young Researcher Award:

  • Yasuhiro Morikawa (ULVAC. Inc.)
  • W. S. Hwang (National University of Singapore)

DPS2004 Young Researcher Award:

  • Kazuo Takahashi (Kyoto University)

DPS2003 Young Researcher Award:

  • Nobuyuki Negishi (Hitachi, Ltd.)
  • Koji Yamakawa (Nagoya University)

DPS2002 Young Researcher Award:

  • Kazutake Taniguchi (University of Tokyo)

DPS2001 Young Researcher Award:

  • Takeshi Kuriyagawa (University of Tokyo)
  • Kazuo Takahashi (Kyoto University)

DPS2000 Young Researcher Award:

  • Hyun-Ho Doh (University of Tokyo)
  • Hisao Nagai (Nagoya University)